Pulau Tikus is a suburb area at Tanjung Bungah near Georgetown on Penang Island and is situated between George Town and Tanjung Tokong. The name Pulau Tikus, meaning 'Rat Island' in Malay, was said to have been derived from the islets rocks and dunes which looked like rats at low tide. This island is one of the well-known places in Penang and also home to small minorities of Eurasians, Thais and Burmese. It was found and established by Captain Francis Light's in 1786 and it has been home to various cultures since the first days of British rule. Besides that, this island also houses Catholic churches and Buddhist temples adorned with architectural designs of their native homelands.
Pulau Tikus was first inhabited by the Eurasians, who were fleeing from persecution in Siam. The Burmese were also among the earliest settlers at Pulau Tikus. A Burmese village, Kampung Ava, was established in the early 19th century as well as the Dhammikarama Burmese Temple, which was built in 1803. Indian labourers were brought in to work in the agricultural estates and eventually build a handful of Hindu temples here such as Arulmigu Balathandayuthapani Temple and Nattukkottai Chettiar Temple. In recent decades, urbanisation has led to the development of commercial properties within Pulau Tikus.
From Kuala Lumpur city centre, it takes around 3 hours and 55 minutes to Pulau Tikus by using the North-South highway.
There are flights to Penang International Airport from Kuala Lumpur International Airport which takes around 45 minutes and once you reach the airport, you can take a taxi or rent a car to Pulau Tikus via Sultan Azlan Shah or Tun Dr Awang road which takes about 35 minutes.
Church of the Immaculate Conception is a church located in Pulau Tikus, George Town. The church was founded in 1811 and is the second oldest church in the diocese after Church of the Assumption. The church was founded in 1811 by Fr. John Baptist Pasqual from Phuket in Thailand. The original church building lasted until 1835 when it was replaced with a brick church. On the adjoining a boys' school, St. Xavier's Branch School and Pulau Tikus Convent was constructed nearby. In 1899, due to the collapse of one the ceilings in the church, it was rebuilt. The church survived until the late 1960s when it was further renovated until the facade today. Currently, the church serves about 5,000 Catholics residing around the north and north-east zone of Penang Island.
Dhammikarama Burmese Temple is located at the Pulau Tikus suburb in George Town and is the sole Burmese Buddhist temple. Built in 1803, it is also the oldest Buddhist temple on Penang Island, the temple is situated directly across Burmah Lane from Wat Chaiyamangkalaram, a Thai temple. Established as a kyaung (monastery), Dhammikarama Buddhist Temple serves as a retreat for Buddhist devotee with monks' quarters and a library within the temple grounds. Numerous statues of the Buddha and mythical creatures are scattered within the temple including a pair of winged chimaeras known as 'Panca Rupa' and a huge mural depicting the Renunciation of the Buddha.
Located within 3.4 kilometres of Penang Times Square and 3.6 kilometres of Rainbow Skywalk at Komtar in George Town, Tropics Eight Suites provides accommodation with a seating area, a flat-screen TV and a kitchenette as well as complimentary Wifi. There is also a microwave, fridge and a kettle. This is a perfect place for busy business people, families on holidays, friends having getaways, and to those who are on medical tourism. A selection of top-class facilities such as 24-hour security service, convenience store and daily housekeeping can be enjoyed at the hotel. Tropics 8 Suites is also home to 85 bedrooms and also available at the hotel including fitness centre and swimming pool.